课程体制
外支持部门

额外支持部门

            绿洲中学部认为学生不仅需要普通课程和课外活动,绿洲欣赏所有拥有独特的学习方式和超课堂需求的学生,这些方式和需求会影响他们充分发挥潜能。这就是为什么学校有了一个延伸的额外支持部门。

         额外支持部门由一名经过认证的特殊教育教师领导,他曾在多个国家的多所学校担任学习专家。他在教授各级学术内容上经验丰富。对于可能需要身体、职业和言语治疗的孩子,他拥有专家资源,可以指导家长给孩子提供帮助并专长于行为管理。部门的中国双语教师提供进一步的学习支持。她是中国认证的英语教师。他们尽可能地在常规教室与学生一起工作,传授策略以帮助其独立自主的学习。

学校辅导员倾向于帮助学生群体应对社会和情感需求,也为员工提供帮助。她具有与不同年龄段的儿童在不同的环境中进行各种治疗方法的资深资格。此外,她是一位实践性很强的健康教育者,她非常精通非英语母语者的教学。

此外,作为国际学校理事会的成员,额外支持部门正在发展一个天赋人才项目,这使其更紧密地与学校的愿景一致:教育、培养、启迪。这些天赋卓绝的学生将与中国及世界各地的其他学生互动。

         虽然在绿洲这个大家庭中,额外支持部门直接协助的只是一小部分,但A.S.团队与所有员工合作,进一步提高全校的教与学。团队提供各种专业发展机会,除了典型的指导之外,还提供了学生大量的方法。这些包括提高自我管理、学习、考试、记忆、社交技能、认知学习策略等等。这些方法不仅有助于全面培养孩子在中学以后的教育,而且有助于培养他们成就独立、富有成效的一生。

学校为A.S.小组的工作感到自豪,并且知道许多学生从偶尔简单的聊天到长期的帮助中受益匪浅。这都是学校在课程的各个方面所采取的整体教育方法的一部分。

绿洲中学部是一所精英学校,学生必须在适合他们年龄的入学考试中取得成功,但是一些学习挑战只会随着孩子的成熟和发展才显现出来。由于培养是其愿景的重要组成部分,学校希望确保所有学生都有最好的机会充分发挥其潜力。

Curriculum
Additional Support

Additional Support at SOIS


SOIS recognizes that its children are not only served through the general curriculum and extracurricular activities.  GOS appreciates that all students have unique learning styles and needs that go beyond the classroom which impact their ability to fully realize their potential.  That is why SOIS has an expanded department of Additional Support.


 The department is headed by a certified special education teacher who has worked as a learning specialist in many types of schools in several countries.  He is experienced teaching all levels of academic content, has expert contacts who help him guide parents of children who might require physical, occupational and speech therapy, and specializes in behavior management.  A Chinese bilingual teaching partner provides further learning support.  She is a China-certified English teacher.  They work with pupils in the regular classroom as much as possible, imparting tactics to increase self-sufficiency.


The school counselor tends to the social & emotional needs of the student body and also offers assistance to employees.  She has extensive qualifications in working with children of all ages in a range of therapeutic approaches in different environments.  Plus, she is a practiced health educator who is highly proficient teaching non-native English speakers.


Moreover, as a member of the Council of International Schools, the department is developing a gifted & talented program, to even more closely align it with the SOIS Vision: Educate, Nurture, Inspire Excellence.  G/T students will be interacting with other students throughout China and around the globe.


Though the Additional Support Dept. directly assists a small percentage of the GOS family, A.S. team members work in collaboration with all staff members to further enhance teaching & learning throughout the school.  The team presents varied professional development opportunities, and gives numerous students tools besides typical instruction.  These services include improving organization, study, test-taking, memory, social skills, cognitive learning strategies and many more.  These instruments will not only help cultivate the whole child for their post-secondary education, but for an independent, productive lifetime.


SOIS is proud of the work of the A.S. team and knows that many students have benefitted from at times a simple chat to long-term assistance.  This is all part of the holistic approach to education that SOIS takes in all areas of the curriculum.


While GOS is a selective school, with students having to be successful in entrance tests suitable for their age, some learning challenges only surface as children mature and develop.  As nurturing is such an important part of its vision, SOIS wants to ensure that all students have been given the best opportunity to meet their full potential.